Weekly Response:

                This week I read on the blog, Food Politics, more about calorie labeling. The blog was titled, Menu labeling: What’s new? The irony about this title was that pretty much nothing is new. Over three years ago President Obama signed the health care act that included calorie labels into law. However, even though this has been signed into law the FDA still hasn’t issued rules for them. I think I am one of the few that think that menu labels would work for me. I am a typical calorie counter and would definitely appreciate the “traffic-light” labels that the article talked about. I don’t think that it’s fair that people that want menu labeling and would benefit from it haven’t been able to have it in over three years.  I was also really surprised by the section of the blog that was titled, “Are the posted calorie amounts accurate?” I suspected that restaurants would claim that there is an extremely small amount of calories in a given meal and what was actually found was that the calories were very accurate to what was posted. I hope that something is done about the menu labeling because I think it would be a great way to help move America into a healthier and more calorie conscious manner.

Leave a Reply

