Weekly Food Log:

From what I can remember, I don’t think I’ve eaten any beef or pork in the past three weeks especially after watching the slaughterhouse video’s last week in class. After reading the chapter in Every Twelve Seconds by Pachirat this week I’ve thought a lot about slaughterhouses. First I think it’s absolutely disgusting that I don’t know where the meat I eat comes from. Second, it’s repulsive to think about what’s in it or on it. In the past I’ve had tunnel vision about slaughterhouses in America and only chose to see the horror for the animals that enter them. However, after reading this my tunnel vision shifted. I became more interested in the employees working in the slaughterhouses than the animals there. I don’t know why I haven’t thought of it before but that job must be a horrific environment to work in. I questioned the sanitation and working conditions. Slaughterhouses are an extremely dangerous place where there are injuries in numbers unimaginable to those of us who don’t even know where the closest slaughterhouse is to us. Not only is the job dangerous but I can imagine it is exhausting and tedious as well. An employee only has on specific task which gets redundant day after day. It’s almost as if the employees are robots, performing over and over, and those who are in charge treat them like just that. They don’t get paid nearly as much as they should for doing their jobs. Reading this chapter made me so happy that I’ve chosen try my hardest to avoid meat for the start of this semester, and it really made me think about what I’ve been putting into my body for nourishment in the past.

Leave a Reply

