Weekly Food Log:

 This week I noticed that I’ve been eating breakfast more often usual. I’ve started to make it a point to get up a little earlier and grab something to eat before I head to class. It’s been drilled in my head since I was in elementary school that you should always eat breakfast. “Breakfast is the most important meal of the day,” is something that I would always hear but never really listened to. Focusing on making sure I eat two substantial meals a day has been one of my goals when I started the new semester. I thought it would help me keep a good schedule and keep my days organized around meal times. So far I would say it has worked pretty well except for some days that have been extremely busy. Since we started class on the 14th I’ve been trying to be healthier especially because of our discussions in class. I’ve been eating salad for dinner most of the time because at times it’s the only “good” food offered at the caf. Sociology of Food has made me realize that most of the food I think is healthy actually isn’t. So many of the fruits and vegetables I eat aren’t as good as I think. Especially in the winter months, most of the vegetables in my “healthy” salad aren’t grown this time of year and are shipped from all over the world. It’s nearly impossible to trace where the food we eat comes from and that’s disappointing.

Leave a Reply

